Music World
Find Artists:
Russian versionSwitch to Russian 

Music World  →  Lyrics  →  S  →  Stranglers  →  News

Ray Davies Teams Up With Metallica, Bruce Springsteen For New Kinks Album

September 30, 2010
Ray Davies Teams Up With Metallica, Bruce Springsteen For New Kinks AlbumRay Davies has re-recorded several Kinks songs with the likes of Metallica and Bruce Springsteen for a new collaboration album.

The LP, entitled 'See My Friends', is released on November 1 and also includes Bon Jovi, Mumford & Sons and Smashing Pumpkins.

Along with Davies, the special guests have re-imagined a number of the band's most famous songs, including 'You Really Got Me' and 'Waterloo Sunset'.

“This project came about almost by accident,” Davies said.

“With some tracks I had to appreciate the style of the other artists, otherwise it would have sounded unbalanced. And I wanted the album to work as an entire listening experience but each track had a life of its own.”

Davies travelled around the world - to studios in Chicago, New York and Denmark - in order to record the 'See My Friends'.

The album also features Paloma Faith, Amy Macdonald and Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody.

The tracklisting for 'See My Friends' is:

  1. Ray Davies & Bruce Springsteen – 'Better Things'
  2. Ray Davies, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora – 'Celluloid Heroes'
  3. Ray Davies & Mumford & Sons - 'Days/This Time Tomorrow'
  4. Ray Davies, Lucinda Williams & The 88 - 'Long Way From Home'
  5. Ray Davies & Metallica - 'You Really Got Me'
  6. Ray Davies & Paloma Faith - 'Lola'
  7. Ray Davies & Jackson Browne - 'Waterloo Sunset'
  8. Ray Davies, Alex Chilton & The 88 - ''Til The End of The Day'
  9. Ray Davies & Amy Macdonald - 'Dead End Street'
  10. Ray Davies & Spoon - 'See My Friends'
  11. Ray Davies & Black Francis - 'This Is Where I Belong'
  12. Ray Davies & The 88 - 'David Watts'
  13. Ray Davies & Gary Lightbody - 'Tired Of Waiting'
  14. Ray Davies & Billy Corgan - 'All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer'

(by Jason Gregory)

See also:

© 2011 Music World. All rights reserved.