Music World
Find Artists:
Russian versionSwitch to Russian 

Background information
Origin Athens, Georgia, United States
Genre(s) College Rock
Alternative Rock
Years active 1980—present
Label(s) New West Records
Associated acts The Minus 5
Automatic Baby
The Baseball Project
Hindu Love Gods
Website Website
Michael Stipe
Peter Buck
Mike Mills
Former members
Bill Berry

Music World  →  Lyrics  →  R  →  R.E.M.

R.E.M. Overview


R.E.M. is an American rock band formed in Athens, Georgia, in 1980 by Michael Stipe (lead vocals), Peter Buck (guitar), Mike Mills (bass guitar), and Bill Berry (drums and percussion). R.E.M. was one of the first popular alternative rock bands, and gained early attention due to Buck's ringing, arpeggiated guitar style and Stipe's unclear vocals. R.E.M. released its first single, "Radio Free Europe", in 1981 on the independent record label Hib-Tone. The single was followed by the "Chronic Town EP" in 1982, the band's first release on I.R.S. Records. In 1983, the band released its critically acclaimed debut album "Murmur", and built its reputation over the next few years through subsequent releases, constant touring, and the support of college radio. Following years of underground success, R.E.M. achieved a mainstream hit in 1987 with the single "The One I Love". The group signed to Warner Bros. Records in 1988, and began to espouse political and environmental concerns while playing large arenas worldwide.

Collapse Into Now (2011) Live at The Olympia: In Dublin (2009) Accelerate (2008) R.E.M. Live (2007) And I Feel Fine: Best Of The I.R.S. Years 1982-1987 (2006) Around The Sun (2004) In Time: The Best Of R.E.M. 1988-2003 (2003) Reveal (2001) Up (1998) New Adventures In Hi-Fi (1996)

Top Songs:


R.E.M's Michael Stipe Used Apple iPhone To Record 'Collapse Into Now'

March 23, 2011
R.E.M's Michael Stipe has revealed that he used his iPhone to record the band's new album. 'Collapse Into Now', released on March 7, features a number of collaborations including Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith and Peaches.  Read more 

R.E.M Reveal New Single 'Mine Smells Like Honey'

January 19, 2011
R.E.M have revealed new single 'Mine Smells Like Honey'. The single, taken from new album 'Collapse Into Now' which is released March 7, sees the band return to form.  Read more 

R.E.M Announce New Album Release Date And Free Download

December 15, 2010
R.E.M have announced details of their new album and free download. The album entitled 'Collapse Is Now' is set for release on March 7.  Read more 

R.E.M Anounce New Album 'Collapse Into Now' Tracklisting

November 25, 2010
R.E.M have announced the tracklisting of their forthcoming album 'Collapse Into Now'. The album, due out early 2011, features collaborations with Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith and Peaches.  Read more 

R.E.M. New Album To Feature Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith, Peaches

November 4, 2010
R.E.M. star Mike Mills has revealed that the band's new album will feature a star-studded list of special guests. 'Collapse Into Now', which is due out in early 2011, includes Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Patti Smith and Peaches.  Read more 

blog comments powered by Disqus

© 2011 Music World. All rights reserved.